Today a Ghostbuster Has Left Us

It’s been a bad day. It has been a bad day for a lot of people. There are only a few things I have ever held onto in my life; my family, my daughter, my love of the arts, and my favorite childhood icon…the Ghostbusters. I feel so dumb and juvenile as I can’t shake the fact that for the first time ever…
A Ghostbuster passed away today.

Through anyone’s life time, we have friends come and go, family leaving us and I am not stating that this loss is harder; it is harder on the Ramis family to be sure and my heart goes out to them and anyone else this actor has worked with over the years and my sadness is nothing in the grand scheme of things, I know…but it doesn’t make it any easier for me.

I am so stupid. Why does something like a movie from the 80’s, my childhood, stick with us for so long? If I had to argue it, it is because I think the film is flawless and has stood the test of time. When I was a child, it was the proton packs and the special effects used that made it so cool, when I was a teenager it was the dry humor and the quick wittedness of everyone involved, and when I became an adult and started working in business, I appreciated the business aspect of the movie.

As I have gotten older, I found it hard to watch your parents; grandparents and even siblings and cousins get old. You know in the back of your mind that everyone goes away to whatever place you choose to believe in, but it never occurs to you the things people do in their life that affects you personally.

I never met Harold Ramis and I am not going to go into his career as a comedian, writer and director; we all know it by now from all the publications today.

I saw ‘Ghostbusters’ in 1985. I was six years old and movie was out on VHS and my parents allowed me to watch it. Then, a while later, the cartoon premiered and I dragged my happy behind out of bed in our home in Norton, Ohio and slid down the railing like the Ghostbusters slid down the fire pole when they had a job to go to. It was a ritual for years and it didn’t stop my obsession. Then there was the toys, oh man, the toys! I had all the Ghostbusters; Peter, Ray, Winston, and Egon; riding in the hard plastic Ecto-1 busting out the Firehouse/Headquarters red doors and finding a ghost somewhere in my room. Those were the days, and then the toys were gone. They were donated because I stopped playing with them…I grew up, but that never stopped my love for the franchise as I went to see the sequel and even stuck around when they came out with Extreme Ghostbusters.

Loving this franchise was…is part of me. There will never be a day that goes by where there won’t be something ‘Ghostbuster’ related in my home. Even now, my family asks, “What is it about that movie?” and my response is always, “What isn’t there?”
Through all the movies and cartoons, I never fathomed that there would be a day that a Ghostbuster could die, and today it happened…and I am having a rough time with it as a lot of other people.

The fact is that there may have not been a ‘Ghostbusters’ the way we know it without Harold Ramis…Egon Spengler, great director, great writer; however you choose to remember him and for those of us that love his movies, and there are many…I know there is…wherever you are now Mr. Ramis…

Just make sure you tell them about the Twinkie.

Ramis

About Bryan W. Dull aka Mryams is you're nasty.

I love stuff. I am also a fiction writer that occasionally has opinions about things and sometimes I am wrong. I also write reviews about games and movies and post news about them as well. I need to probably post more, so follow me and I'll get more driven.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 205 other followers

